Beet Cupcakes

I wanted to title this “rich chocolaty moist cupcakes” to ensure no one is turned away from the thought that these cupcakes are made using beets.  I’ve been cooking a lot with beets lately because the last 4 plus weeks of my CSA share have featured them.  For those who would turn their nose up, I’d like to share that of the 15 cupcakes made last night for a small dinner at my house only four remain this morning.

I made up this recipe on my own, using other cupcake recipes and my beet brownie recipe (which already makes a cake-like brownie) as guides.  The result was pure deliciousness sandwiched between frosting and paper wrappers.


Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Flour
  • 3/4 Cup Sugar
  • 3 Tsp Cocoa powder
  • 2 Tsp Baking powder
  • 1 Tsp Baking soda
  • Pinch Salt
  • 3/4 Cup Beet Puree
  • 1 Stick Butter, soft
  • 1 1/2 Tsp Vanilla
  • 4 oz Chocolate Chips
  • 3 Eggs

Frosting:

I used my “good with everything cream cheese frosting” but any slightly sweet, light frosting will compliment the delicate chocolate taste of the cupcakes.

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Melt chocolate chips in a double broiler (or like I did, in a mug in the microwave stirring every 20 or so seconds until done), set aside.
  3. Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and set aside.
  4. Cream butter and sugar together.
  5. Add vanilla and cocoa powder, mix well.
  6. Add one egg at a time, stirring until well incorporated.  (If you’re like me and accidentally add all 3 eggs at once, you may need to whip out the electric mixer to ensure everything mixes together).
  7. Add in the melted chocolate and beet puree, mix well.
  8. Add in the remaining dry ingredients and stir until just combined.
  9. Fill cupcake wrappers 2/3 full.  Will make 12 cupcakes.
  10. Bake for 18-22 minutes, cupcakes are done when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
Leave a comment

Filed under Bakery, Sweets

Leave a Reply

