Energy bars

I recently went on a hike and whipped up this batch of energy bars to eat for breakfast while on the trail. This recipe is a riff off of another recipe I found online. They were quite tasty and filling, which is perfect for a hike or go-to snack/pick me up. I took the Whole Grain Gourmet’s specific recipe and pared it down to its essence.

Once you make these, you’ll instantly see modifications you can make to it to suit your taste. Feel free to experiment- more peanut butter, or more honey. I would’ve added chocolate in it or melted on top if I had any on hand.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup nuts (your choice- walnuts, peanuts, almonds, a mix or one kind)
  • 1 cup dried fruits (I used dried cranberries, strawberries, blueberries)
  • 1/2 cup Bob’s 12 grain cereal (or another variety, or just grind up oats)
  • 2 cup rolled oats (mine was a rye, oats, barley, wheat 4 grain medley)
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Toast the oats under the broiler. Be very mindful you don’t end up with burnt oats. Stay close to the stove and begin peeking the second you smell them.
  2. The recipe I based my energy bars off of said to “pulse dried fruits to mine.” I found that trying to pulse my dried fruit lead to my food processor emitting an ear shattering noise with little mincing happening. So, I instead took out my handy chef’s knife and got to hand chopping.
  3. I also chopped my nuts up by hand.
  4. Combine the dried fruits, nuts, and rolled oats together in a bowl (leave out the cereal).
  5. Boil 1/2 cup of water in a saucepan. Add the 12-grain cereal. Let it rest two minutes (I turned off the heat but left the pan on the burner).
  6. Add the peanut butter, honey, salt, and vanilla to the pan with the cereal. Turn on heat to low and stir for a few minutes until thoroughly combined.
  7. Combine the wet mix with the dry mix. I got right in there with my hands as a fork and/or spoon were not doing the job after a while.
  8. Press into an 8×8 pan (no need to grease it first). I first used my hands to press the mix into the pan. Then I used the back of a spoon to press and level it some more. You want to ensure it’s a compacted, solid bar.
  9. Take a sheet of wax paper and use that to press down on the top and even out the energy bar mixture.
  10. Let it firm up for a few hours at room temperature before cutting.
  11. Cut into whatever size bars you’d like. It makes at least 8 really large bars.
1 Comment

Filed under Sweets

One response to “Energy bars

  1. Cool, twas thinking of making my own granola bars.

Leave a Reply

